Tuesday Updates

As my ‘update’ posts usually are, this is going to be a bit random and scattered.  

Results:  Results page is updated.  Let’s just say that this week is MUCH better than last.  I missed out on the 20lb overall mark by .2 of a pound.  The woman was really sweet though and told me to wait 20 minutes, go pee and then I could re-weigh and see if there was any difference.  There was not!  Next week for sure I’ll get a star.  AND, I am only 4.2lbs away from my first goal of 10%!!  I can hardly believe it!  So in the next couple of weeks I suppose I’ll start looking at a spa menu.  But here’s the thing: while I’m really proud of myself, it hasn’t seemed like that big of an effort and I honestly still don’t feel like I’ve done anything to deserve the spa.  I don’t really like the idea of the spa to begin with, I’m not a big fan of ‘the touching’, but I’m going to have to do SOMETHING to celebrate.  Ideas?

Empty Calories:  OK, so technically on Weight Watchers, you can eat whatever you want, as long as you have the points available to spare.  If you want to eat junk and crap you actually can.  But, a dear friend of mine keeps saying that we shouldn’t just eat empty calories.  That if you’re going to eat something it should have some sort of nutritional benefit.  So the past couple of days I’ve been trying to eliminate the things like rice cakes (believe it or not, NO nutritional value) and potato puffies.  I’ve been spending points a little differently in that respect.  Instead of my nightly soy latte (made at home) and 2 caramel rice cakes, I’ve been having the soy latte with an orange or a couple of kiwis.  Instead of the rice cakes that I take as my afternoon snack, I mixed together cottage cheese and garlic pasta sauce and microwaved it (SO GOOD!).  I don’t anticipate completely eliminating the snacks (the potato puffies are just too good!) but I’m giving a little more thought to the food I’m eating.  I’m trying to consider nutritional value AND points value.

Walking to Work:  That was my ‘secret’ from a couple of days ago.  I spend well over an hour and a half in my car on the way home every evening.  90 MINUTES to go 16 kilometers (9.9 miles for my American friends).  I can’t take it anymore!  So I thought I should start walking to work.  Obviously, I am not going to walk 16 kilometers each way.  So I will take the Skytrain (our version of the subway but it runs overhead instead of underground) from the station near my house, get off at the stop nearest to where I work and walk across the bridge.  It should take about 25 minutes to walk to work (+ 7 minutes skytrain time) and then I will get ready at work.  The issue was that while the boys have a shower on their side, there is no shower on the girl’s side.  I talked to a couple of people this week who could change that and didn’t meet the resistance that I thought I would.  BUT, the wheels turn slowly and I don’t see it happening all that soon.  I am, however, meeting some resistance about the idea in general from someone whose opinion matters to me.  So I’m torn.  Sitting in my car, burning fuel and doing nothing is starting to make me really upset every day, but there are a couple of pretty good reasons why walking is not a great idea.  I still want to do it.  We’ll see. 

Person who hurt my heart:  I had to call and talk to him today for work reasons.  I was a little nervous, but I felt like I had to test myself so I bit the bullet.  I had to find out if hearing his voice would send me into a paroxysm of despair and sadness.  I am happy to report that I felt no such thing.  I cut right to the chase, asked my question and then told him I was on my way into a meeting (partially true) and hung up.  After that little test, I feel as though I can say that I am in total control of the situation and in fact am mostly all the way over it/him.  Yay me!

Recipe of the week:  Can you say soft taco including sour cream and melty, delicious cheese?  In a casserole?  For only 6 points?  SO GOOD!  But you have to wait until Thursday…..heheheheeeeeeeee

I hope everyone’s week went as well as mine did.  Please feel free to post your results on my results page if you like.

11 Comments

  1. Bev said,

    October 16, 2007 at 9:47 pm

    I’m trying to think of something for you to do, maybe a Giants hockey game, a reflexology treatment?
    And what are the ‘pretty good reasons’ to not go through with your idea?

    You’re results this week are great, you can tell you’ve worked hard to get to this point.

  2. lost said,

    October 17, 2007 at 5:13 am

    wow, i can’t wait to make my 10%. hopefully by the end of the year…
    my first week went great. lost 4.8 lbs 🙂 can’t wait for the recipe… !

  3. crookedeyebrow said,

    October 17, 2007 at 6:45 am

    my word, you are so close to your 10% goal! you have done wonderfully!

    I’ve been slacking way to much. You rawk!

  4. twinsunplus1 said,

    October 17, 2007 at 7:02 am

    Great job lady!! That recipe sounds great, can’t wait.

  5. willamina said,

    October 17, 2007 at 8:07 am

    You know, I’m trying to revise my commute, too. . . I hate, truly hate, the drive. It is soooooooooo slow, stop-start stop-start, always an accident on the highway. I’d rather walk a lot and take the bus, at least a couple days a week, I think. I’m contemplating it.

  6. October 17, 2007 at 8:14 am

    So close to the 10% you are doing a great job! The recipe sounds yummy, I”m going to have to check back for that!!

  7. Marueze said,

    October 17, 2007 at 4:39 pm

    Wow, you certainly are the Woman keeping to her mission. Great! keep up the momentum.

    Nice to discover another cottage cheese and tomato sauce fan. My “foodie friends” make fun of me for this but if it works don’t break it.

    My plans to lose 20 lbs before I left for Italy were shot in the foot when I started going to the gym at work and ended up gaining 7 lbs. I have since lost the 7 lbs plus. However, I wanted the 20 lbs as cushion. I leave Satuarday so …so much for that. I know that although I will be walking, etc. I think I might be eating and drinking beyond what really is in my point range. I don’t want to obsess over food but I still want to have my share of gelatto, etc. Fortunately, several of the hotels appear to have gyms and although I also am not the biggest fan of exercise – some weight work wouldn’t hurt.

    Your persistence is inspiring.
    Keep it up!

  8. Lady Shanny said,

    October 17, 2007 at 6:03 pm

    I don’t know about you, but I would not spend one single second worrying about points in ITALY!!!!!!!! Not to say that I would eat 24/7, but I don’t know that I would give that much thought to it. It’s ITALY for crying out loud! Enjoy. Eat. Drink. There is always exercise and WW’ing when you get back.

    Have a really, REALLY good time!

  9. Zanitta said,

    October 17, 2007 at 6:40 pm

    sounds like you’ve had a really good week 🙂

  10. MamaBearJune said,

    October 17, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    You are doing wonderfully. I definitely agree with making calories count. With the Abs Diet, he recommends food that HELP you lose weight. I never feel hungry.

    I can’t even think of a reward better than a spa day, so I can’t help you there. 🙂

  11. desperatewriter said,

    October 17, 2007 at 10:38 pm

    Congratulations on the success, Lady Shanny! I promised myself a pedicure for my first 10 percent. One I don’t have to do myself!

    Maybe you could treat yourself to a new outfit, or a new haircut, or a new movie….


Leave a Reply

