Not so Complex

Happiness?  That’s nothing more than health and a poor memory.  ~ Albert Schweitzer

I was wondering these last couple of days, when do I get to ‘happy’?  When does the switch get flipped and I’m happy all the time?  And then I started wondering what the real definition of happy was?  Is it satisfaction?  Contentment?  Success?  Or is it something different for whatever moment you happen to be in?  Does it have to be a complicated, intricate emotion?  Or can it be simple?  I think the choice on that one is up to me, so I’ve defined happiness for myself.  Here it goes.

Happy is having someone call and see how you’re doing, just for the sake of it.

Happy is lighting some candles and taking a nap.

Happy is knowing that you are doing right by your body.

Happy is a good hair day.

Happy is snow-smell.

Happy is a good cup of coffee.

Happy is knowing there are people out there who totally get you.

Happy is learning to knit.

Happy is pretty lipgloss.

Happy is flannel sheets and a crisp breeze.

Happy is a good smelling hand soap/shampoo/body lotion.

Happy is painted toenails, even when you’re wearing closed shoes.

Happy is having an unexpected guest for lunch.

Happy is comments on a website.

Happy is an incredibly sweet orange that makes your tongue sing.

Happy is everything and nothing, all at the same time.  It’s one of those emotions/concepts that I feel media has made so difficult to get to.  They have made it so complex and unattainable that regular people could never measure up.  Happy is linked to wealth and success and the perfect relationship.  When in fact, if you wait for all that to finally happen at the same time, you will never get there and your life passes by while you sit and wait for the happiness to kick in.    

So even though every day can’t be perfect and some moments will wear me down, I can declare myself happy for little or no reason at all.

What are some of your definitions of happiness? 

7 Comments

  1. twinsunplus1 said,

    October 15, 2007 at 5:55 am

    For me it is being told I’m the best mom in the world–even though there are days I know I’m not.

    A great big hug and kiss freely given without expecting anything in return.

    You are SO right. If you wait for it to happen, it never will. It is one of those things we need to seize in the moment.

    I’m glad you are happy! Thanks for making me happy too! Happy October 15th!

    http://scalewar.wordpress.com

  2. willamina said,

    October 15, 2007 at 6:23 am

    It sounds cheesy, and isn’t something I’d say much in everyday life, but happiness for me is being able to help people I love, being able to stand up for them when they aren’t feeling strong. Happiness is being needed, having a special part to play in the things that go on around me.

    Many of the things that have made me happy are those sweet little things that seem to happen totally out of the blue :-). Which is why you have to hang on, because you never know when they’ll occur.

  3. Tarable said,

    October 15, 2007 at 7:47 am

    Yeah, I’ve been struggling with this emotion for the past few days (once again) so all I can add is that happy is when this shitty mood passes.

  4. Bev said,

    October 15, 2007 at 7:03 pm

    Happy is being on your way to meeting up with someone you really want to see.

    Happy is a full day at work, not slow, not crazy-busy, just right and accomplishing some good stuff.

    Happy is sitting on the patio with a glass of wine, a new O magazine and knowing you can sleep in the next morning.

    It’s funny, I never looked at the things I described as ‘happy’, more like content, satisfied, comfortable, etc. I’ve always looked at happy as giddy, smiling, laughing. I guess everyone defines it for themselves. Hmmmm…..looks like I just said what you did 🙂

  5. The Empress said,

    October 15, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Happiness is waking to share your day with someone special.

    Happiness is knowing that someone loves you even after they know the real you.

    Happiness is making someone giggle.

    Happiness is a long, hot, bubble bath with a cup of hot chocolate 🙂

  6. katapilla22 said,

    October 16, 2007 at 9:59 am

    Happy is realizing that the only expectations you have to live up to are those of your own…

  7. Lady Shanny said,

    October 16, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    Katapilla, I LOVE that!


Leave a Reply

