Sleep-crying

I had a dream last night, that when I woke up I was crying in real life.  Now, I can count on one hand the number of times I cry in a year (and still have most of my fingers left over) so that is always disturbing to me. 

The dream was this:  For some reason, after I had reached my goal weight, I moved to Boston.  I was working there and lunch time rolled around.  One of the people I worked with told me about this great little restaurant called Gistano’s (where do I come up with this stuff?) so I walked over there.  I went up to the hostess and she asked me for how many people.  I said “one“.  She gave me a dirty look and went and talked to a guy who also worked there.  When she came back she said, “We’re too busy to give a table to just one person“.  I looked around the restaurant and there wasn’t another soul in there and then I realized that she didn’t want to give me a table because there was just me.   I started crying in the dream saying that I hated Boston and when I woke up, I was crying in real life.

So what does that mess mean?  I think it means that I have to keep remembering that I’m not going to be a different person after the weight is gone.  I will still be me, just with less fat.  Not that I think that I deserve to be treated poorly, that wasn’t the point of the dream.  The point was to make sure that I spend as much time working on the inside as I am the outside. If I don’t correct some of my fears and issues then I will only have done half the job.

As an aside to my last post about grocery shopping, I went to my regular grocery store last night to be met with a sign that said “We are rearranging the store to make your shopping experience more convenient”.  What it actually should have said is “We are moving everything around, we haven’t put up new signs to tell you where stuff is, cereal is in 4 different aisles right now, we have hired every giggly high school girl we can find to do the move and drive you nuts, so have fun!”  Being slightly obsessive, I shop for exactly the same stuff every week and I have my list in order so I don’t have to go back and forth.  I guess that’s all shot to hell for awhile!  ERG!

4 Comments

  1. The Empress said,

    October 13, 2007 at 9:32 am

    Changed my name slightly because I am feeling powerful this week. 🙂

    Very insightful about what your dream means…its like looking at the canvas and only painting half of the picture. If you don’t do the work on the inside as well, you won’t complete the project.

  2. October 13, 2007 at 10:45 am

    I don’t like dreams like that either. I think your interpretation was very accurate. I have always been told that to have a dream of being on your own signifies a right of passage so I think your dream is simply a symbol of moving from being overweight to being of healthy weight.

    And while I know we don’t shop at the same grocery store, my grocery store had a similar atmosphere…no fun.

  3. Bev said,

    October 13, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    I remember following a website about a year ago (Gingerbread Lynn) and telling her that she should take all her blog entries and make them into a book. Same goes for you! The humor and honesty makes your website tops!!

  4. October 14, 2007 at 12:02 am

    […] Lady Shanny, what mess! I hate it when the move stuff around at my local. You are doing GREAT, btw! Love your […]


Leave a Reply

