Couple of Things

First, one of you, in the last hour, was my 2000th visitor!!!!!  Holy crap!  I had no idea what a huge response I would get by simply chronicling my journey online.  You guys ROCK!!!!!!!!!!

Second, the results page is updated, and while I did lose, it was a slightly disappointing but not unexpected result.  Now begins a new week!

Third.  And this is where I get up on my soapbox for a minute.  There have been several posts that I’ve seen on various websites these last few days eschewing diets.  I get that.  But don’t roll Weight Watchers in there.  Weight Watchers is not a diet.  It is a tool.  Just like if you are crappy at math and use a calculator.  Or if you are crappy at navigation and use a map.  Or if you are crappy at eyeballing and use a level. (I use all 3, by the way!)  Those are all tools and Weight Watchers should be considered a tool as well.  It is a tool to use if you are crappy at portion control.  It is a tool to use if you are crappy at self-control.  It is a tool to use if you are crappy at structure.  I understand not wanting to count points and portion out groceries and write down everything you eat for the rest of your life.  I get that.  But if you want to learn how to do something you practice doing it.  Great pianists don’t read every note.  Great dancers don’t count every step.  But to get to ‘great’, they did.  They practiced and rehearsed and examined everything.  Someone who is good at portion control and self-control because of practice, can take a bit of leeway with what they eat.  If you are new to this, you can’t.  Don’t get discouraged and overwhelmed.  One day, one minute, one meal at a time.  Sorry if this sounds preachy, but I would hate to see people not succeed because the future is daunting.  I had a couple of days like that last week and to be honest it was not fun and I don’t expect that those were the last.  But it does pass.  You do remember why you’re doing it and you just keep going.  OK, climbing down off the soapbox now.

And last.  A girl that I work with brought us back treats from her 3 week holiday in Greece.  She brought foreign candy bars.  Nice!  I wasn’t tempted in the moment, but figured I might be one day when I open my desk drawer and see them laying in there staring up at me with their sweet Greek eyes.  So I read the nutritional information (yup, it’s on there in english and greek) and each candy bar has NO LESS than 550 calories and 29 grams of fat!  Holy Mother!  And my boss, being the uncontrolled individual that he is, ate all 3 of his (we each got 3) in 10 minutes.  That is more, MORE, than 1500 calories and 87 grams of fat that he consumed in 10 minutes!  And after realizing that, they lost all appeal and now I don’t know what to do with them.  There was a time that I wouldn’t have looked at the label (let alone tried on a Greek candybar) or cared what it said.  That time is gone.  I know that I sucked hiney this weekend and with all the salt I consumed I wrecked my reading tonight, but I accounted for every thing I put in my mouth.  I wrote down every single thing.  And I don’t feel guilty about it.  I feel irritated and slightly uncomfortable, but not guilty.  I know I’m not perfect.  I know that it will happen.  I know that I have to allow myself little indulgences because if I don’t, this won’t work.  You don’t get a dose of perfection when you pay your weekly fee, all you get are tools.  Tools to make sure that the indulgence doesn’t get out of hand.  Tools to show you what you may have done wrong.  And tools to help you do better.  That’s all we can do.

PERSISTENCE NOT PERFECTION

10 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    October 9, 2007 at 9:20 pm

    Take those candy bars and figure out how many points are in them (write it on the wrapper) Then put them somewhere safe. And then one day when you have some extra points and a sweet tooth – you can try a Greek candy bar! Or half a Greek candy bar… or maybe a quarter of a Greek candy bar? (Jesus, really? 29 grams of fat???)

    Anyways – it’s not very often that you get to try such a thing (how often are you in Greece?). It’s a special treat! Once in a while, that’s ok.

  2. Tarable said,

    October 9, 2007 at 9:22 pm

    Oh and I’m bringing in the empty bag of those potato puffy things that I mentioned – so you can see what they look like. I was going to bring you in a sample of them but somebody in my house has ZERO self control and he emptied the bag and then poured the crumbs into his mouth.

  3. willamina said,

    October 10, 2007 at 7:20 am

    hey lady! i hope i didn’t offend you with my post contemplating diets 😦 i was just thinking out loud, in the way that i do. . . mulling over all different points of view and trying to figure out what will work for me. weight loss is such a personal thing in so many ways, no matter how much i share on my blog, there is so much emotional pain and confusion involved. but writing is definitely helping me so much—which i’m definitely going to mention in my next entry—and getting feedback has helped just as much 🙂

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    October 10, 2007 at 7:25 am

    OMG NO! If I had your phone number, I would call you up this very minute! It wasn’t really yours that inspired the soapbox-ness….more that this seemed to be the theme across the weight loss blogs that I read. Trust me, I know exactly how much writing helps and often-times I write things like that to convince myself as well. I would never passively aggressively attack you like that on my website!

    Are we still friends?

  5. JanB said,

    October 10, 2007 at 8:11 am

    I go for ebaying them! LOL, say the eyes are some ancient spiritual figure. I love greek food, but it doesn’t love me.

  6. willamina said,

    October 10, 2007 at 8:13 am

    Of course we’re still friends, silly! I was just really paranoid that I upset you. I’m kind of a spazz that way ;-).

  7. Tarable said,

    October 10, 2007 at 10:18 am

    Lady Shanny I can see your future as a WW leader one day.

  8. October 10, 2007 at 10:55 am

    I just saw your new photo, amazing. You adorable thing you!
    I’m very proud of you, you are doing fantastic! !

  9. twinsunplus1 said,

    October 10, 2007 at 10:59 am

    Way to go! Love your posts. Add an RSS feed so I can remember to read you every time you post, rather than just Wednesday!

  10. MamaBearJune said,

    October 10, 2007 at 2:28 pm

    Congrats on the loss! 🙂


Leave a Reply

