Admission

This weekend was, in truth, a bit of a drain on my motivation and determination.  It was not exactly the Lady Shanny affirming experience that I had hoped it would be.  It was part boring, part depressing and mostly rainy.  Given too much time to myself, I started to doubt that I was on the right track.  I started to miss the comfort of food like I haven’t in 5 weeks. 

I fell into a familiar trap that I should have recognized.  Too much variety spells disaster.  I am not yet ready to have the strength to deal with the really yummy stuff in smaller portions.  It just makes me realize what I’ve been missing.  Remember my addiction to sugar that I talked about here?  I should have remembered that when I started to open up the food plan a little to include things like the 1 Point Chocolate Muffins or the wafer cookies (Penguin will review that later this week).  I should have remembered that variety can do me in when I started adding things to the menu.  Particularly because I already really like the foods that I’ve been eating, so adding in new stuff means that I’m actually adding in MORE stuff.  So, until I’m ready (and I suppose it will be a bit of trial and error to find out when that time comes) I will stick with consistency and predictability.

So, I’m off to make the same breakfast and lunch that I have been having for 5 weeks and I will substitute ONE thing for something new so I can start getting used to the idea.  It will be the same one thing all week and we’ll see how that goes.

Are you like me and need the predictability of an unchanging menu?  Or do you get bored easily and need to switch it up?

9 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    October 8, 2007 at 7:00 pm

    It’s so easy to to fall into a food “routine”. I mean you find what works for you and what you like and what’s easy, well… why would you want to change it up? But I have to be careful with that because I can get bored and start feeling like I’m being “deprived” and then I want to “treat” myself to stuff that I maybe shouldn’t.

    I have a “standard” WW dinner that I eat 70% of the time. It consists of:
    4oz lean meat (usually chicken)
    small baked potato topped with FF Sour Cream and chopped green onions
    Brocoli and cauliflower, steamed and topped with 1oz grated light cheddar cheese.

    It works well because it satisfies my need for cheese, for potato, for meat – plus it gets me at least 3 servings of vegetables. Sometimes I add variations (pork instead of chicken, brussel sprouts instead of B&C, boiled instead of baked potatoes) but essentially it still ends up being the same meal in the end.

    I recently started getting bored with it even though it’s easy to make, and good for me, and low points.

    So I recently bought a new cookbook – Company’s Coming Most Loved stir-fries. I’ve made about 6 different meals out of it now and I’m loving it! It’s got lots of different and healthy meals in it that I wouldn’t normally think to make. And each recipe gives you the total amount of calories, fat and fibre so it’s easy to figure out the points before you make it.

    Anyways, I’m really glad I bought it and started trying new recipes – I needed that break from my “safe” WW meal.

  2. Lady Shanny said,

    October 8, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    That sounds YUM! How many points does the safe meal cost you? I’m looking forward to October 15th when the new Best of Weight Watchers cookbook hits the shelves. I’m not so bad when I have routine (work, as much as I don’t like going there, provides structure) and dinner is not generally the problem. It’s more the snacking, especially on weekends. I have to remember to schedule my snacks on the planner so that I know what’s coming. It’s better that way than when it’s just an empty void filled with too many possibilities.

    Every night for 5 weeks I’ve had 1 cup of Unsweetened Soy, microwaved with Starbucks SF Caramel syrup and decaf crystals and 2 caramel rice cakes. Every night! I love it. I look forward to it. I don’t feel quite right if I don’t end the day with that. But this weekend I decided to have something different….and that just started the downfall because then I still felt I had to have my regular nightly snack. I only went into my 35 by 21, but that was all in TWO DAYS! What’s done is done, we’ll see what tomorrow brings.

  3. Tarable said,

    October 8, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    It’s about 8 points (depending on any variations).

    And uh… sorry for writing the novel. I didn’t realize how much I wrote until I posted it.

  4. willamina said,

    October 9, 2007 at 8:11 am

    I’m very much a creature of habit. Despite my occasional longing for something wildly different, I get comfort out of routine. I have the same breakfast every day: cinnamon oatmeal with a banana and nonfat milk. And I genuinely like it, plus I’m not really awake yet when I eat breakfast, so autopilot at that time of day is perfect for me. It’s probably a good idea to mix things up a bit now and then for other meals, although I read in You: On a Diet that variety is actually a danger zone at least initially for those trying to lose weight. I guess because it introduces more complex flavors and we want to taste them all, so we end up eating more?

  5. Krystle said,

    October 9, 2007 at 10:57 am

    I’m definitely all for keeping it the same and routine, until I feel emotional confident that I’m going to make the right choices. I alternate between low fat/low sodium turkey lunch meat (4 oz per serving) and 4 oz of cooked skinless/boneless chicken breast – and I do that because I don’t want the temptation of mac n cheese, or greasy cheeseburgers, etc until I’m stable enough with self control. Same with chocolate, etc. I didn’t TOUCH a sweet thing except for my LA Lite bars (which have been my SAVIOR!!!) for almost 2 weeks… and I did this because I knew if I laid hands on a piece of REAL chocolate, I’d fall into that trap. Now these past couple days, I’ll allow my self ONE tootsie roll per day, or ONE Dove Miniature per day. I’m fine with that, and amazingly I don’t have temptation for more. I know that’s my limit, and I better enjoy it! :o)

    But, yes… I’m the same. Breakfast – Mon/Wed/Friday I have 2 slices of light bread, with I can’t believe it’s not butter Spray (unlimited), and 1 Tbsp Reduced fat Peanut Butter and 8 oz skim milk, and 1 fruit. Tuesdays and Thursdays I have 1/2 a bagel, with 1/2 cup of egg beaters for 1 egg, and 1 slice of cheese, and I can’t believe it’s not butter Spray on the bagel, with no salt… makes for a tasty breakfast treat every other day!

    Enough of my rambling. I agree though… Stay with your routine things, until your confident you have good self control!! :o)

  6. Marueze said,

    October 9, 2007 at 4:13 pm

    Yup, I am also a fan of sticking to a plan. That is when I am the most successful. Routine works for me, but I do as others have mentioned & substitute or add in different items.
    The flexibility part does come into play quite often when I go out socially. I tend to want to watch what I eat but not necessarily have everyone look at what I’m eating and comment as to how healthy I’m eating or what a good dieter I am. My palate has changed to prefer healthier cuizine. Lucky me! The 35 points really help to let this work out. I try to save them towards these kinds of meals.

    The best thing is that you are aware of what is going on with you. 🙂

  7. Lady Shanny said,

    October 9, 2007 at 5:27 pm

    Wow! This is clearly a big issue with people other than myself. I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one out there who is happy eating the same stuff day after day after day after…..you get the point.

    I’m worried about weigh-in tonight because I feel fat and toxic, but at least I’ll know what went wrong, and I think its name is “4 bags of microwave popcorn in 2 days”. I didn’t go over my 35, but nonetheless.

    And Tarable, I LOVE the novels!

  8. October 10, 2007 at 10:58 am

    I too have fallen in a runt of the same foods, I started trying the WW frozen meals for lunch since I couldn’t hack another salad.

    and I totally have guilt because I just ate the best donut in the world. But, hey, I’ll count it and move on with my day. But, the fat girl in me could have totally eaten 3 more!

    Oh, and I’m addicted to the WW english muffin with butter spray for breakfast as well.

  9. Lady Shanny said,

    October 10, 2007 at 5:55 pm

    Thanks for the sweet comment about the picture…it is a big change from the first one, I think, mostly because my face looks better.

    Quick question….are you in Canada? Because I cannot find a WW english muffin to save my life! I can’t find any damn english muffin that is less than 3 points. I think I’m going to have to go over the the US to fulfill my muffin requirements.


Leave a Reply

