Hello?

Where did everyone go?  Did you all fall off the planet?  Is the rain making you all hibernate?  Don’t you love me anymore?

Meh!  This website is for me anyway, so here I go for today.

My psyche is a jerk.  If I didn’t know better, I would be pretty sure that the minor muscle spasm in my back, my headache, my yawning, the congestion in my head were all reasons to bail out of going to Aquafit tonight.  Good thing I know better.  I know exactly what my inner self is doing.  I don’t LOVE the idea of going, so my inner self is trying to make reasonable and believeable excuses not to go.  Nice try!  We’re still going!

I feel like I’ve finally found a really good place in my life.  I have great friends, a small but serviceable social life.  My priorities are in order again, I’m making sure that I take care of me first and then whatever time or energy is left goes out to the rest of the world. 

I’ve never been one for a huge social life.  I’ve never had a huge group of friends.  I generally protect my time to myself and choose not to go out.  But I have found, since I’ve let go of some major baggage, that I don’t need as much time to myself.  Maybe because what I do for me now counts for more than all the time I had before where I wasn’t treating me very well.  I can become a hermit very quickly and when I hermit-ize, I eat.  Since I don’t need to eat my way through the evenings, it frees up alot of time.  Like time to go to Aquafit (stop complaining, WE’RE GOING!). 

I’ve been thinking lately about advice I would have given myself 3 or 4 (or more) years ago on how to get here, and I realized that it wouldn’t have been possible.  And then I got to thinking about people in general and how most people who attempt to lose weight don’t succeed, or succeed and then gain it all back and then some.  And I wondered if you have to get to a certain realization about food, yourself, weight, self respect and pride before it sticks.  There are people who have lost weight and never, ever gain it back.  Are those the people that finally got to the place in their lives where it all makes sense?  Heaven knows, I’ve always ‘known’ the right things to say and what I should believe and practice, but I’ve never FELT it like I do now.  Maybe that’s what’s different this time.  I don’t know.  What I do know is that for whatever reason, I don’t have cravings, I mostly don’t self-sabotage (except for that first night before weigh-in) and it all makes perfect sense now.  It’s like I got hit with the weight-loss success stick.  It bugs me that I can’t put my finger on it.  It bugs me that I can’t because I want to know why it hasn’t worked before.  I do know that support from people is key.  I’ve certainly never done that before.

That’s all for now.  I’m off to Aquafit.  Maybe I’ll think about this while I’m freezing my arse off in 12 feet of water. 

5 Comments

  1. azland55 said,

    September 25, 2007 at 3:22 pm

    Hi Ladyshanny
    just to let you know have posted an article on soy products-hope this helps.

    Sandra and Ted

  2. katapilla22 said,

    September 26, 2007 at 11:10 am

    Hi Shannon,

    I’m still here…on this planet, and keeping up with your blog! Sometimes I don’t have anything important to say, therefore no comment is left. But just know that I still support you and am tuning in almost daily out of general interest and to make sure you are still doing okay! Way to go on the continued success!

    Kat

  3. desperatewriter said,

    September 26, 2007 at 3:04 pm

    Oh, you mean it’s a STICK? No wonder. I was looking for my Weight Loss Motivational Button. I couldn’t find the button, where was the button…Now I’m off to look for a stick.

  4. Lady Shanny said,

    September 26, 2007 at 4:37 pm

    Yes, DesperateWriter, it is a stick. Not a rock, not a pin, not a button. A stick. And once it cracks you on the head, you’re good to go!

  5. Lady Shanny said,

    September 26, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    Thanks Katapilla! I appreciate the support!


Leave a Reply

