Guest Blogger

My sweet sister, Princess Darcy, agreed to do a guest post for us.  Enjoy.  You can leave comments for her just the same as you would for me.

____________________

Let’s talk about E-X baby!  (to the tune of “Let’s Talk About Sex Baby”)

Okay… so I’ve thought for the last few days what I would write about as an honored guest blogger.  And I figured, since it’s the thing that changed my life, I’d write about exercise.

Before you read on, you should go and read the comments in the entry ‘Yech!  I (bubble) exercise!”

I completely understand how the thought of exercise makes people want to hide under the blankets with a half dozen mars bars… however, I have a few comments that may take the anxiety out of beginning to exercise.  When I first started with the program I was in, I went alone, at 5:30 in the morning to a secluded beach location where I knew no one… I was probably the MOST out of shape person there.  I couldn’t complete a warm up lap to save my life… I wanted to die!  I also knew that it doesn’t get any easier by not going and instead eating the mars bars…so I kept it up…and I started to realize that there was no judgement.  No harrassment.  No being made to feel bad about myself or being made to feel fat.  There were just a bunch of people who were working as hard as they could, while I worked as hard as I could.  Of course it’s all relative to how much one can do, and when I was running my butt off and they were running theirs off, it was often them running back towards me as I fell further behind… and all I heard was loud cheers of support, my name being called out and words of encouragement ringing out into the morning… No one MADE them say those things… but they all knew that I was pushing myself out of my comfort zone, and into a life of fitness… and it didn’t matter that I was behind or fat or out of shape… the point was that I was trying…

I guess my point is that if you’re out there, in a group of people, like at the gym, in a class, at aquafit, I guarantee there isn’t one person in that room that’s thinking that you shouldn’t be there.   Or thinking that you’re the fattest person there, or that they’re working so much harder and you’re slacking off.  The overwhelming feeling if you spoke to them is that you’re there, making self improvements and that in itself is commendable!  Highschool gym class did not consist of a group of like-minded individuals who were making an effort at self improvement.  It was nerds and jocks and those of us in between, being bossed around by a ‘gym teacher’ who was probably also the math teacher… It’s not the same!

I know this, because after spending a lot of money and effort and work, I became the person in my workout group who was one of the fastest, definately one of the strongest and one of the leaders… and when we got new people in to the group, not ONCE did I think that they were slackers.  Not once did their body size or shape even enter my mind.  The ONLY thing I ever thought is, if they’re trying as hard as they can, then I’m going to be there to encourage, and assist… just like EG did for me.  It was only ever when someone wasn’t trying, or was using their weight or lack of fitness as an excuse not to try that we ever thought about anything other than them being out there giving it their all!

The one other point I wanted to make was that it’s very important for YOU to not compare yourself to THEM.  There are people who have been exercising their whole lives… they can go farther, faster, stronger and longer… and no one expects that out of you.  Everything takes practice, including exercise… you’re only setting yourself up for failure if you go to the gym and see people who are making it look easy and compare yourself to them. 

My main point is that it IS hard…for everyone…and no one thinks you’re less worthy of being there.. so long as you go out to whatever you’re doing and try your hardest, you win!     ~ Princess Darcy

4 Comments

  1. Lady Shanny said,

    September 19, 2007 at 11:08 pm

    Sister! You are the best guest blogger I’ve ever had! Hands down! 🙂

    Thank you so much for writing that. I can write about a lot of things, but because this website is completely honest for me, it takes having someone else write some stuff for motivation because I haven’t been there yet.

    I’ve never really appreciated the courage that it took for you to go to Boot, on that first day. I am very proud of you and how far you’ve come. Good Job Sister Princess!

  2. Bev said,

    September 19, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Princess Darcy: I tell everyone I know what you did by going to Boot and I tell them it’s ‘real Boot’ run by tough military guys. That took tons of courage, determination, stubborness and perseverance. You are a force to be reckoned with….you have strength, physical and mental. And I’m proud of you.

  3. Princess Darcy said,

    September 20, 2007 at 10:59 am

    Um, I’m the only guest blogger you’ve had! 😛

  4. katapilla22 said,

    September 20, 2007 at 11:33 am

    I met Princess Darcy (PD) through this boot camp. PD mentions how she was the “most out of shape person there” but her physical fitness condition was never what stood out to me. What did stand out, was her positive attitude and her perseverance. There were times when you could visually see the struggle she went through, but she consistently pushed herself harder and harder each time. I know when I say this I speak for many others in the group, and that is that PD was an inspiration to us all!

    People came and went from the group, and sometimes there were individuals that may have been more fit, but did not see improvements. Why? Attitude mostly, but in my opinion they also didn’t have the belief that they could do better. PD believed she could and was determined to do better, even though there were times where she probably felt like it was impossible and may even have ‘bubbled’ it all the way, she kept pushing on. As cheesy as it sounds, we have to believe that we can always push ourselves harder as “the only limits on your life are those that you set yourself”.


Leave a Reply

