Yech! I (bubble) Exercise! ~ Updated

(There was a request from my dear sister to re-write the first paragraph of the post below.  She felt that there was a bit too much hate free-flowing.  So, I am going to replace the word “hate” with the word “bubble”.  I get where she is coming from, but I really, REALLY do not enjoy exercise.  While the paragraph is honest, perhaps it reads a little too negative.) 

Honestly.  Bubble it!  I bubble the way it feels.  I bubble getting ready to do it.  I bubble that I don’t have a single thought in my head while I’m doing it except for how much I bubble it.  The only time I don’t BUBBLE it is right after I’m done. 

However!  There are a couple of forms of exercise that I don’t mind simply because they don’t feel like exercise.  First is any type of aquafit, especially deep water aquafit.  And second is aerobics classes.  I don’t know why, but I am willing to do both those things.  And I’m going to.  Yes, you heard it right.  I am going to go to public exercise classes!

According to all the powers that be, you need to exercise at least 30 minutes a day, three times a week.  That seems do-able, right?  There is a beautiful recreation center near where my friend lives.  So she and I are going to christen our exercise plan by going to Cardio Excellerator aquafit on Sunday morning at 9:30am.  I also want to go to the deepwater one called Power Deep.  And then they have a Twilight Yoga class on Thursdays (I’m not sure if yoga counts as exercise, but it’s something I’ve always wanted to try).  I know that exercise assists in the weight loss, but I’m actually going for something else.  I know I could lose the weight I want without exercising.  Sure, it would take longer, but it can be done.  What I want is a sense of accomplishment.  Accomplishment for actually DOING something.  Not that everything I have been doing means nothing, but it’s a bit passive. 

Also, per the last post, I have a goal that is more than possible or reasonable and for that, I will need to expend more effort than is comfortable or desired.

So the new activity plan is as follows (see?  activity plan not exercise plan):

Monday ~ Power Deep 8pm

Tuesday ~ Weight Watchers Meeting 7pm

Thursday ~ Twilight Yoga 8:15pm

Sunday ~ Cardio Excellerator Aquafit 9:30am

As with every other issue on this website, I will be completely honest about the results and my experience and feelings with this plan.  It should cost me about $30/month to do and be worth a heck of a lot in Feel-Good-Shanny dollars.

Wish me luck that I don’t have a stroke and drown in the water on Sunday morning!

PERSISTENCE NOT PERFECTION

14 Comments

  1. Empress_Wendy said,

    September 17, 2007 at 10:24 pm

    Reading your blog tonight has left tears of joy in my eyes! First time I have had joyful tears in a LONG time.

    I will be right with you Lady Shanny. Sunday’s class will be fun and we will be rocking to the 80’s with Richard Simmons….Ok maybe not Richard but the instructor does play Def Leppard and all these other old rock songs. I love it!

    I have to thank you for motivating me, and mostly inspiring me, to get my butt in gear and regain control of my life. I have had my share of sadness this year…and while I am not entirely healed… I am finally able to pull my head up for a little while and believe there is a little light out there somewhere.

    Thanks for your friendship and contributing to that growing light 🙂

  2. Princess Darcy said,

    September 17, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    Hi!
    Good for you for finding something that you like to do and then going out and doing it… you should meet some fun people there too.
    Just a request. Could you please re-write the first paragraph? Using no negative words or inferences? Just humor me… because that was a lot of ‘hate’ up there… 🙂

  3. Bev said,

    September 17, 2007 at 10:33 pm

    It’s like there’s a ‘new’ Shannon emerging. I’m glad you’re doing the aquafit, at least it’s doing something in a pool besides boat races and noodle fights! (but those were lots of fun too).

  4. Tarable said,

    September 18, 2007 at 8:31 am

    I find that the more “activity” you do, the more you like it. Ok, maybe not LIKE it – but you can kind of get addicted to it in a sense. I now NEED it. Not only does it aid in the weight loss – it boosts my mental health. And yes, I feel so accomplished afterwards.

    Good luck!

  5. Princess Darcy said,

    September 18, 2007 at 9:22 am

    I was just wondering what you don’t enjoy about it? I mean, no one LIKES excersise… well, okay no one LOVES excersise… but like Tarable says, you will become to need it… your body will have an outlet for excess energy etc… and then you’ll HAVE to do it.. yes, some days you won’t, but Tarable can back me up.. a couple days without excersise and you’ll start to go squirrely…

  6. Princess Darcy said,

    September 18, 2007 at 9:23 am

    And fyi, that’s not what I meant by rewritting the paragraph!

  7. katapilla22 said,

    September 18, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Hey Shannon,

    Tarable is right…the more you do it the more you like it. I am an exercise addict! I could explain how addicted I am, but I’ll spare you the boring details and just let you know this: Despite my addiction, some of the time I too bubble it. I bubble getting up at the crack of dawn to do it. I bubble getting ready for it. I bubble having to spend oodles of dollars on it. I bubble when I am covered in sweat and smell nastier then the homeless dude on the corner. But that said, I feel like a million bucks when I’m done and can’t wait for the next session! I feel like it keeps me on track as far as diet is concerned. Mostly because after doing a killer workout, it makes me think twice about what I’m going to eat. As for the not having “a single thought in my head while I’m doing it except for how much I bubble it”, the trick is to vary it. When something starts to get boring, try something else. And yes, Yoga counts as exercise. As a matter of fact, I’ve heard of many success stories where someone has lost weight where their only life style change was to add yoga.

  8. Bone Junior said,

    September 18, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    I was thrilled to read your post and find someone else who feels the same way I do about exercising. We have an elliptical machine at our house, and every time I use it, I just get more and more angry. I’m angry getting ready to get on it, I’m angry when I’m on it, and I’m pissed when I’m done. I just hate it. But I agree about finding something you like – for me, it’s tennis. Maybe it’s because it doesn’t FEEL like I’m exercising – I’m just out there having fun.

  9. Lady Shanny said,

    September 18, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    Princess Darcy asks: I was just wondering what you don’t enjoy about it?

    I had to think about that one for a bit. I guess what I don’t like about it stems from high school PE classes. The judgement, the staring, the competing. I realize that not all activity is like that, but I guess I associate the physical exertion with not fitting in, being called fat, feeling bad about myself. And so the feeling of breathing hard, sweating, etc. makes me feel all those things again.

  10. Tarable said,

    September 18, 2007 at 7:15 pm

    Lady Shanny – I totally get that. I was always the not-very-good-at-school-sports kid who nobody really wanted to pick for their team.

    Hmmmm…. should we pick the mentally handicapped kid, or Tarable…

    Corky! You’re on our team.

  11. Lady Shanny said,

    September 18, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    I guess the ticket here is to realize that we’re adults now and we have control over how we allow ourselves to be treated. Even if we can’t change the other person, we can still be proud that we stood up for ourselves. I’ve had to start mentally psyching myself up for the Sunday inaugural public ‘activity’ session. The phrase going through my head is “I have as much right to be here as anyone else.” along with “If I don’t START activity-izing, I’ll always be exactly where I am right now”. Confront the demons head-on, I suppose. And if I still hate it, I can remember that I earned activity-points for beer!

  12. Lady Shanny said,

    September 18, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    ALSO! WTF is up with school phys ed? It really is just setting future adults up for having body issues and self-esteem issues and learning to hate exercise. If that’s the goal, I think they are a screaming success!

  13. hueyea said,

    September 19, 2007 at 9:31 am

    Hi Shannon! Good for you going out there and making an exercise plan. I think it always helpful to have a exercise buddy. This way you’ll feel like you can’t let your friend down and not show up. It’ll keep you both accountable!

    Let me know what you think about yoga? I’ve always been interested in trying it myself.

  14. Princess Darcy said,

    September 19, 2007 at 12:56 pm

    OMG, this comment section is DIRECTLY related to my guest blog… so I’ll start writing! Did I mention I bubble writing?


Leave a Reply

