Shake things up….

I’m sitting here at the Starbucks near where I work (after going to BestBuy Customer Service HELL) and thought I would write my entry from here. 

One of the girls at work had a terrible phone message this morning that was understandably upsetting.  When I saw her in the bathroom later that morning we were talking about how all a person wants to do in a trying situation is eat.  Before I started this website, I had never really been honest with myself, let alone anyone else, about the overwhelming urges that I have some days.  Pre-WW, on the bad days I would sit at my desk and all I could think about was what I was going to go home and eat.  It consumed me.  The day dragged by and I counted the minutes.  And then I would get home and carry out my plan with great vigor.  The trouble is that it is even more emotionally stressful to know that you are NOT going home to chew on the refigerator, which leads to the urge to eat.  It’s circular logic, I know.  It is kind of freeing in a way being honest with myself and with other people about my bad habits (like YOU for instance).  Makes it, again, not hidden and secretive.

My suggestion to Tarable was to go home, eat her alloted points and then go to bed.  If you’re sleeping, you can’t be eating, and as miserable as you are, sleep tends to erase the pain temporarily.  So I hope you’re in bed Tarable.  Stay strong.  I’m here for you!

On the topic of sleep, I’ve noticed that I don’t need as much.  Not that I don’t love staying in bed, but I find I’m able to go to bed later and I wake up somewhat rested.  I was waking up and feeling like I was in a coma, which is not surprising considering the quantity and un-quality of food that I was feeding my body.  When I got home today I had dinner and then was relaxing on the sofa, building my resolve for going to BestBuy.  I had a splitting headache and decided that I would close my eyes for a minute.  About 20 minutes later I woke up (Thanks Bird) and didn’t feel groggy and stupid like I normally do after I eat dinner and take a nap.  Now granted, my naps have always been hours long (I prefer to call them mini-sleeps) after I’ve eaten a large quantity of crap.  So this was a nice little surprise.  Another nice surprise was that today, it seems that my body has adjusted to the water intake and is not outputting it to such an extreme.  Yay!

Alright, this Starbucks internet access is costing me a fortune so that’s it for today.  No questions for you all today either….you get a Lady Shanny question break!  Feel free to comment on whatever you like today!  🙂

PERSISTENCE NOT PERFECTION

3 Comments

  1. Tarable said,

    September 14, 2007 at 7:23 am

    I resisted the bottle of vodka in the fridge. I resisted ordering a pizza with extra cheese, I declined the offer to go for a beer – and instead I cooked and ate a healthy dinner and then went for a walk and then to bed.

    I could not allow some loser to not only ruin my day but sabbotage my new lifestyle.

    I win.

  2. katapilla22 said,

    September 14, 2007 at 4:16 pm

    “I could not allow some loser to not only ruin my day but sabbotage my new lifestyle.”….I love this comment because that is so true. That is the way it should be. One is always in the driver’s seat of their own life. How one feels, how one reacts to others/things, the decisions one makes and one’s general attitude is what helps one become successful at anything in life.

  3. shannon12271 said,

    September 14, 2007 at 11:58 pm

    You do win Tara! You kick ass! You rock! You don’t deserve to be crapped on, EVER! But I’m very proud of you for staying the course on such a rough day. I know it wasn’t easy….but I bet it felt good!


Leave a Reply

