If I’m cheating, who’s winning?

I know you are all waiting with bated breath, wondering how my first weigh-in went…..no?  Alright.  In any case, each week I will add the results to the ‘Results’ page on the left hand side (aptly named, yes?), but for this, the inaugural result, let me tell you a little story.

I’m sure you all read my self-sabotage story yesterday night.  Well, things didn’t really get any better from there, although I appreciate the comments, emails and Be In Touch’s that I got from all you lovely people.  I went to bed, had a nightmare and then woke up this morning with rocks in my stomach.  ROCKS!  All day I was nervous.  To the point that by the time I got home I was feeling sick to my stomach.  I took a bath to try to relax a little and then off to the meeting.  And all the worry was for nothing.  I lost 5.8lbs this week.  Now, before you all start nodding and saying ‘water weight’, just stop it!  I’m very proud of my little victory, leave it be.  So, each Tuesday evening (by Wednesday morning latest) I will post my results (good or bad) on the Results page.  I’ll leave the comments open on that page for you to post your results too, if you like.

Now, on to today’s topic.  Cheating.  If you are playing a board game, and you cheat, you gain an advantage, however ill-gotten.  The other person doesn’t notice (if you’re a good cheater) and you make headway where otherwise you might not have.  If you cheat on Weight Watchers, or any plan for that matter, who gains the advantage?  You?  No, you don’t gain anything by cheating.  In fact, you are in about the same boat as if you had been cheated against.  And that’s really what happens.  

I am trying to make headway in this new journey, and I won’t get there by self-sabotage or cheating.  As I mentioned, this website is going to be a bit self-discovering and I tonight I’m going to try to put my Emergency Cheating Contingency Plan into place. 

Problem:  I’m going to cheat.  I’m going to sit here and consume a lot of calories, all in the effort to make myself feel better about whatever is going on at the moment. 

Fact:  I know it won’t work.  I know that I will feel fat, untrustworthy, guilty and ultimately worse than I did to start with. 

Realize:  Food has been a companion and a comfort for a really long time and it’s not stupid or particularly unexpected to need to call on it now and then.  I will not be able to change a lifetime of behaviour overnight, or even in the forseeable future.

Solution:  Don’t be so hard on myself.   Accept the comfort that it might give, but openly and without hiding.  Write it down as a food choice.  Only without hiding it is it a conscious decision to accept it for what it is.  No shame, no hiding, no sneak-eating.

I realize that I am a perfectionist in some respects.  If I can’t do it well, I don’t want to do it at all.  That is going to be a pot-hole that I will have to watch for.  If I miss one day of writing in the tracker, if I go over one day, if I forget to make my lunch one day, it’s all over.  Honestly.  I’ve been down the road before, hit that pot-hole and went for a spill.  At least this time I can recognize it and attempt to steer around it, or get back up after I’ve fallen down.

Here’s to hoping everyone’s weigh-in this week went as well as mine did.  Feel free to leave your results in the comments section, here or on the Results page.  And if you have any suggestions or comments about cheating and potholes in the road, speak up.  The comments section loves EVERYONE!

6 Comments

  1. Briggie said,

    September 11, 2007 at 9:10 pm

    Your solution is right on the money. Don’t be so hard on yourself. The weight did not get there overnight, neither will it go away overnight. Writing down your favorite comfort foods or go to foods is an awesome idea. Finding new ways to prepare them so they are less of a “guilty” food can help you still enjoy them and avoid all the down sides to them.

    Oh, and water, lots and lots and lots of water – our bodies need it and we never drink enough.

    God bless you on your journey and we hope to be seeing “less” of you!

  2. Princess Darcy said,

    September 12, 2007 at 7:44 am

    Maybe you can learn to go to something else for comfort… like a drink of some sort… water? Maybe you can tell yourself that when you’re feeling like sabatoging yourself or needing that familiar comfort, that water is like liquid gold to your body… visualize the water plumping up the important cells (braincells) and washing away toxins and those things that are causing you to need comfort in the first place…
    It’s an American statistic, but there’s something like 90% of americans who mistake thirst for hunger… just something to think about.. when you ‘think’ you’re hungry (which is usually when you aren’t, but you want to eat) drink water, visualize what I said above and then see if you still want/need to eat…

  3. katapilla22 said,

    September 12, 2007 at 12:28 pm

    I don’t know if I have any tips to offer on how to handle these potholes. The fact is, they are going to happen and likely always will. I don’t know one person who has given up cheesecake for the rest of their lives! 😉

    Just realize that you are NOT a failure because you ‘cheated’…you’re human. When you learned how to walk, you didn’t just get up and walk. You fell down, you crawled and you tried again until you figured out how to do it. Don’t beat yourself up when you cheat…as you said, just get back on the plan and keep trying.

  4. hueyea said,

    September 12, 2007 at 1:16 pm

    Hey Shannon – Great job on the 5.8 lb loss! Remember – Persistence, not Perfection.

  5. Bev said,

    September 12, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    When you want to ‘cheat’ get on the elliptical for a couple minutes (doesn’t need to be a full blown workout), move your legs like crazy….it will give you time to think and may get you over the wanting to eat hump. It will also create a different chemical reaction in your body, think of it as a science experiment! Then have a drink of ‘liquid gold’.

  6. Princess Darcy said,

    September 13, 2007 at 8:48 am

    AHEM!
    Miss Pilla, indeed you do know one sad…. sad…. vewy VEWY sad soul who has given up cheesecake for the rest of her sad… sad… vewy VEWY pitiful life….

    C’est moi 😦


Leave a Reply

