Well this isn’t fair!

Cigarettes, heroin, alcohol, cocaine.  In the recovery for all these addictions, you stay away from the object in question.  Far, far away.  That is the only way to overcome it.  But what about food addiction?  Don’t kid yourself, if you overeat for emotional reasons, even if you don’t know what they are, you probably are food addicted.  But how does a person ‘recover’ from an addiction when you have to be in direct contact with the offender every single day?

Although I’ve only just started WW, I have some experience in the diet, eat, diet, eat way of life.  You have to get to know yourself.  You have to learn what your triggers are, what feeling you have inside just before you overeat.  You have to know what foods you really do need to avoid at all costs. 

My pre-overeat feeling is sort of an itchy one.  I get sort of an itchy feeling in my chest area.  A feeling that needs to be ‘quieted’ with food.  If I don’t have a little self-talk, I get bitchy with myself.  Bitchy that I am being deprived, that this isn’t fair, that I should just accept that I am and will always be a fat person.  The self-talk that works the quickest for me is “Move.”  Go online, look at pictures, wash the floor, sort the laundry.  Do ANYTHING else.  Because if I just stay sitting there, the urge will overcome me. 

My trigger foods are anything sweet.  Tarable found some KozyShack puddings that are only 1 point each, but I can’t even go there.  I will eat them all.  Then I will go to the store and buy regular pudding and eat it all.  Sugar kills me.  I even stopped putting it in my coffee on the weekends because I’m a little afraid of what will happen.  People say that you can’t live your whole life totally avoiding something, but I think you can.  What about people with allergies?  They don’t even consider their allergy food when making menu choices.  And I am emotionally allergic to sugar. 

And my trigger emotions are….well…all emotions.  Seriously.  Happy?  Let’s celebrate with pizza.  Sad?  Let’s console me with cake.  Depressed?  Let’s comfort me with melty, delicious cheese.  Angry?  Let’s fly off the handle, write a scathing blog post, yell at the bird and then eat everything in the house.  This is why the WW points system is working for me.  I am good with structure.  As long as I plan and track and follow the points, there is no room for overeating and I have to find some other way to cope. 

This leads me to the next couple of posts:  Set goals that aren’t food related and When you cheat, who is winning?  But those are for next time.

I’ll pose my end-of-post-questions now, even though many of you don’t comment (maybe one day you’ll get brave).  What food do you have to avoid like the plague?  What self-talk phrase works for you when you’re having a moment?

4 Comments

  1. Princess Darcy said,

    September 10, 2007 at 11:07 am

    I generally have to avoid bread… refined carbs really… cause they’re so good! And smushy and soft and comfortable… Plus, now that I can’t eat dairy, it’s all I have! hahah… not really!
    do what I do with dairy but apply it to sugar! I seriously YEARN for it every day! and I COULD eat it, get a stomach cramp, have the poos and then feel better… but what kind of quality of life is that…. so I tell myself that I’m allergic to it, that things taste fine without it and it isn’t worth it… it’s not! maybe you SHOULD be allergic to sugar in the forms that hamper you.
    My self talk phrase comes down to excersise… which is why when I don’t excersise, I go all manic and eat everything I see! It goes something like this… I don’t get up at bird thirty to work my ass off, wanting the sweet relief of getting hit by a car, to eat it all away in the evening.

  2. hueyea said,

    September 10, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    My weakness is chocolate and any type of baked goods, cake, bread, muffins, pies, etc. That’s why I’ve chosen to follow the core plan. Baked goods are non core! And anything with real sugars are also off limits. I can use my WPA for them. Need to put them into a “treat” perspective.

    I have two things I tell myself. I’m not sure who posted it first but …Nothing tastes as good as thin feels. Then the other is simple…. one more step. Last time when I was training for my first 5k I purchase some customized Nike. Check out the site if you get a chance I believe it’s Nike id. Anyway on the left tongue it sayes” 1 more” & on the right tongue “step”. It’s just something I think while I’m jogging.

  3. Tarable said,

    September 10, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I’m a little bit different as far as this topic goes – I don’t completely avoid any food(s). I find that if I let myself have a little bit of whatever it is that I’m craving then I never go completely off the deep end with it.

    There are certainly foods that don’t have very often – such as chinese food, or pizza, or donuts (Mmmm… donuts) but if I have a craving – I let myself have some (in controlled portions). Otherwise, I would obsess about it and probably end up “cheating” on myself and go overboard, throwing any progress out the window.

    Everything in moderation.

  4. willamina said,

    October 20, 2007 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Shanny. I know pretty much *exactly* what that itchy feeling in the chest is like… It helps to know I’m not the only one.


Leave a Reply

